Student Artwork

School Counseling Department

Welcome to the SHS School Counseling Department! All Somerville High students will be assigned to a school counselor during their time here. We are here to support students and families as students progress through high school and beyond. We hope you can find information about many of the programs and services we provide here on this website. If you have additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact your student’s counselor.

Read our most recent newsletter: SHS Counseling, College, and Career Newsletter for June 2017

School Counseling Department and Contact Information

Simone Braga, SHS Registrar, x6173, sbraga@k12.somerville.ma.us

Meghan Sousa, 9th grade CTE Counselor, x6112, msousa@k12.somerville.ma.us

Justin LaBerge, Beacon House School Counselor (students with last name A-Doq), x6127 jlaberge@k12.somerville.ma.us

Jeremy Rischall, Elm House School Counselor (students with last name Dor-Le), x6129 jrischall@k12.somerville.ma.us

Paula Keymont, Highland House School Counselor (students with last name Lf-Pi), x6128 pkeymont@k12.somerville.ma.us

Cathy Maguire, Broadway House School Counselor (students with last name Pj-Z), x6126 cmaguire@k12.somerville.ma.us

Anne Herzberg Eden, ELL School Counselor, x6130 aeden@k12.somerville.ma.us

Anne Irwin, Regular Education Adjustment Counselor, x6132 airwin@k12.somerville.ma.us

Suzanna (Zanny) Alter, Redirect Counselor, x6180 salter@k12.somerville.ma.us

Barbara Favaloro, School Counseling Secretary, x6120 bfavaloro@k12.somerville.ma.us

Traci Small, School Counseling Director, x6125 tsmall@k12.somerville.ma.us

Melanie Kessler, Director of College & Career Readiness, x6259 mkessler@k12.somerville.ma.us

Department Brochure

English, Spanish, Portuguese, Haitian Creole

Mission

To facilitate the academic, personal/social and career development for all students through a School Counseling Program that is comprehensive, preventative and developmentally appropriate.

Core Values

Strengths-based, Comprehensive, Developmental, Preventative and Proactive

CCR e-Newsletter

Want to stay up-to-date about Counseling, College, and Career? Sign up for our newsletter here: Newsletter Sign Up

Bound By Confidentiality

A counseling relationship involves the development of trust and confidentiality, which must not be breached by the counselor except where there is bullying or a clear and present danger to the individual receiving counseling, or to other persons. The counselor may share information gained during the counseling process in essential consultation with other appropriate persons specifically concerned with the individual. Confidential information may be released only with the consent of the individual being counseled, except when required by law or when a clear and present danger exists.

 

SAVE THESE DATES

IMPORTANT EVENTS FOR STUDENTS AND FAMILIES

Seniors Post High School Planning Night

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

SHS Auditorium

7:00-8:30 p.m.

Information for seniors and families on post secondary options, Naviance, and financial aid.

 

Post Secondary/PSAT Day

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

SHS Auditorium

During the school day

10th and 11th graders take the PSAT. Special schedule for 9th and 12th grade

 

Financial Aid Completion Event

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

SHS

During the school day 

FAFSA/CSS completion event in partnership with uAspire for 12th graders.

 

Somerville Post Secondary Fair

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

SHS Atrium/Field House

6:30-8:00 p.m.

Students and families in grades 9-12 are invited to talk to colleges, military branches, gap year programs, and other post secondary options in our annual fair.

 

College Experience Panel

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

SHS Auditorium

During the school day

SHS graduates return to discuss their post secondary experiences with students.

 

College and Career Day

Saturday, March 31, 2018

Somerville High School

9:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

A variety of workshops for middle and high school students and families on college and career topics.

 

Class of 2018 Scholarship Awards Night

 Wednesday, May 23, 2018

SHS Auditorium

7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Seniors are recognized with scholarships from the community.